Kawasaki ATV Forum Header   Kawasaki ATV Forum Header Right
Go Back   Kawasaki ATV Forum > Kawasaki ATV Performance / Maintenance / Technical > Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou

Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou Kawasaki's strong and reliable utility ATVs

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2011, 10:37 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

View radtexas's Photo Gallery(0)
Default Prairie 360 drive belt replacement & one other question

Let me start by saying I am no mechanic but can do simplier things. Well after giving our new used 2004 360 Prairie a good wash I noticed something I did not see before. Over the drive belt warning LED was black electrical tape. I blame myself as I am not knowledgeable about these machines and didn't even think to look closer but when washed it was apparent tape was covering something. So I took off the tape and the light was blinking. So took off the torque converter cover to inspect and compare with the service manual. Belt width is to be 1.17-1.22 inches. All I have is a 25 foot tape and it shows about 1 1/8" width. So well below specs. Which also means deflection is also way out of spec by maybe 1/2" or so.

Looking at the service manual it does not look like a simple belt change and adjustment. Several special tools and so forth. Or is it easier than it looks?

If it is difficult what are some general cost numbers I might expect to pay a dealer to replace?

Also since the belt is so worn is there other things that might need replacing as well in this area? If so what are they and what expense should I expect to see?

The other question I have is pertaining to idle when starting. When cold it will not stay running without giving some throttle. I played with the idle some and got it to stay running cold but after it warms up then the idle is way to high. When I got the bike I drained the fuel and added fresh with some carb cleaner in the mix. I also checked the plug and regapped. It appeared okay.