Kawasaki ATV Forum Header   Kawasaki ATV Forum Header Right
Go Back   Kawasaki ATV Forum > Kawasaki ATV Performance / Maintenance / Technical > Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou

Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou Kawasaki's strong and reliable utility ATVs

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2011, 09:19 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

View JaCkaL829's Photo Gallery(0)
Default 2001 Prairie 400 Trouble Shifting??

Hello,

I'm looking into purchasing an 01 Prairie 400 2wd automatic quad. It's at a good price for a machine like this, and although isn't a garage queen, should fit my needs. I have a lot of experience with an 03 Prairie 360, so I feel confident buying another one.

Anyway I looked at itthis afternoon, it started up nice, ran totally fine. I wasn't able to test drive it since it's in a warehouse, and is 'buried' behind lots of boxes, etc. So when I went up and down a little 10 feet path, I noticed the shifting was very difficult. It was very difficult to go through R, N, H, L and required the shifter to be 'slammed' at times. It was as if the little button on the shifter did nothing. I was turned off by this, but I'm now wondering if this is a huge deal or not? It obviously needs to be tended to, but is it a big fix and something I should be majorly concerned with? I don't mind putting a little time and money into the bike, especially for what I wanna offer for it, but I don't want it to become too expensive and a burden on me.

I read on one forum people with kinda similar problems claiming bent linkage, or just needing to clean and re-lube the shifter. Are these expensive parts to replace?

Any help on the topic would be greatly appreciated. I don't mind spending a little money, and getting my hands dirty to repair the quad. I just don't want to spend a ton of money on it where I put more money into than the quad is actually worth.

Thanks!!!
JaCkaL829 is offline   Reply With Quote