Kawasaki ATV Forum Header   Kawasaki ATV Forum Header Right
Go Back   Kawasaki ATV Forum > Kawasaki ATV Performance / Maintenance / Technical > Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou

Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou Kawasaki's strong and reliable utility ATVs

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2012, 09:40 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

View mucky's Photo Gallery(0)
Default Front CV Joint Replacement

Just want to start by saying im new to brute forces and new to this form. I couldnít find this information myself so I thought id try to explain what I did. Im not a mechanic so bare with me.
Removal:
Start my loosening off the tire while machine is on ground then jack up, put jack stand underneath and remove tire from hub. Next remove cotter pin (good idea to get a new one on install) and nut holding the wheel hub on. I had someone helping me do this, he held the front brake while I used a braker bar to back off the nut, then remove the nut. There are two nuts on the back of the brake caliper that you need to take out, remove brake caliper and tie up with tie wraps somewhere so the hoses donít get damaged. Remove the cotter pins (good idea to get a new one on install) and nuts holding the upper and lower A-arms. I tried to do the job by just removing the upper A-arms but couldnít get the axle shaft out of the hub. Now remove the wheel hub. With the hub and A-arms out of the way, I simply tugged on the axle and it came right out. If the CV boot is damaged as mine was, no need to worry about damaging it more so just cut the band clamps off using side cutters. If the boot is still ok, pry up band clamps with screwdriver and cut off with pliers carefully. To get CV joint off I put the shaft snuggly in a vise and banged it off with a hammer. There is a circlip on the end holding it in place on the shaft.
Install: