BF 750 fan - Kawasaki ATV Forum
Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou Kawasaki's strong and reliable utility ATVs

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 04-05-2013, 10:38 AM Thread Starter
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: fleetwood, pa
Posts: 65
BF 750 fan

The fan on my 07 Brute Force 750 does not want to run for extended periods of time. It seems to just kick on every once in a while and turn right off...like a second or two it will run for. The coolant level is adequate. Any ideas??

Thanks

2007 BF 750 - SuperWinch 2500, 27's, otherwise stock.
jjenk298 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 04-05-2013, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
dman66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oley,Pa.
Posts: 2,770
Hey neighbor...Have you opened up the coolant system recently or had a coolant leak?It could be air bubbles trapped in the coolant system or your radiator could be low on coolant.Or It sounds like maybe the rad fan temp. sensor could be causing this problem - the sensor is an "on/off" switch based on temperature.In the winter months,my 05 750 fan may run for about 10 -15 seconds - in the summer months and running low and slow,the fan runs alot and longer.If you were to open up the coolant lines,I would replace the coolant thermostat on the upper right side of front head,and the rad fan sensor.I would also consider the high flow water pump impellar mod - my quad will be getting one cause slow technical riding really heats up the coolant.I'm also gonna install the oil cooler mod soon too. If ya need help,I'm 15 minutes down the road.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjenk298 View Post
The fan on my 07 Brute Force 750 does not want to run for extended periods of time. It seems to just kick on every once in a while and turn right off...like a second or two it will run for. The coolant level is adequate. Any ideas??

Thanks

05 Brute 750i Stock engine/ Muzzy Pro exhaust,Dynatec cdi,Vision Bruiser 14" wheels, 26" Bear Claw HTR Tires,3" intake snorkle - restricted,2" CVT snorkles,10" electric fan with custom mount,Mr Gasket Fuel Pump ,rejetted at #40 pilots,2 3/4 out on A/F screws,stock needles shimmed .030",# 158/# 158 main Jets

Last edited by dman66; 04-05-2013 at 06:09 PM.
dman66 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 04-08-2013, 08:00 AM Thread Starter
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: fleetwood, pa
Posts: 65
I'm going to mess with it tonight. I'm supposed to go riding Thursday...

My plan tonight is to flush/top off the coolant system. Maybe I will catch a break. My theory on the temp sensor on/off switch is that it is properly telling the fan to turn on, right? For some reason it isnt staying on... which doesnt make sense.

My plan if I cant figure it out/fix it by thursday is do bypass the sensor and hardwire the fan to a toggle switch so I can turn it on and off manually... thoughts?

2007 BF 750 - SuperWinch 2500, 27's, otherwise stock.
jjenk298 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 04-08-2013, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
drewlawrence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 165
I would think that the fan switch might have failed. But if you bypass the switch on the rad, and it still does the same. Maybe start looking at the breaker. Also a low coolant level may cause the issue.

Running a toggle switch it a great way to keep it cool. But if your rad switch isn't working and you forget to turn it on, you might overheat. So if you cant fix the issue, maybe hard wiring on all the time might be your option.

2010 Brute Force 750
Nocturne Blue
VFJ Stage 3 Spider Mod
Full Muzzy Pro
VFJ MSD
Warn XT25
27" Mudlite XTR's
Moose Utility Front/Rear Bumpers
Temp guage, Fan Override
Symtec Heated Grips
SATV Ez Steer
1.5" Spacers All Around
drewlawrence is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 04-08-2013, 08:38 AM
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Charlotte Hall Maryland
Posts: 103
I found the wiring on the breaker of my 2007 to cause those problems.

Run it until the fan comes on and hop on the seat a few times and if that cuts it off you might have the same problem.

I replaced the breaker with an inline fuze and sealed the wire.
Steve8511 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 04-08-2013, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
dman66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oley,Pa.
Posts: 2,770
I forgot about that factory fan breaker - install a waterproof fuse holder with a 20 amp fuse in it.Also if you're riding on RAC property,make sure you have your pass - a state cop checked us on Sunday morning at Burma Rd.I've never been checked in the past 3 years til yesterday. Oh yeah,you can just jump out the two wires at the sensor,to insure the fan runs good.I wound up installing a 12 voltdc relay,and the fan bypass switch will turn on the relay,and the fan wires run through the relay instead of the switch - had problems burning up switchs - no more problems since I went with the relay setup.

05 Brute 750i Stock engine/ Muzzy Pro exhaust,Dynatec cdi,Vision Bruiser 14" wheels, 26" Bear Claw HTR Tires,3" intake snorkle - restricted,2" CVT snorkles,10" electric fan with custom mount,Mr Gasket Fuel Pump ,rejetted at #40 pilots,2 3/4 out on A/F screws,stock needles shimmed .030",# 158/# 158 main Jets

Last edited by dman66; 04-08-2013 at 03:06 PM.
dman66 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 04-09-2013, 07:44 AM
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SE PA
Posts: 9
hey guys. i'm a friend of the OP's..

we opened the rad cap and noticed there was fluid to the top... so unless there is some pocket of air, that should be good(havent changed fluid or anything recently, so id be confused as to why there is a pocket)...

we also ruled out the fan being bad, but running a jump pack to that. runs fine.

my plan of attack is as follows: find the temp switch (from what ive read, it's in the radiator, somewhere on the left side if sitting on the seat.) and bypass that. if the fan runs, it is either the switch or an air bubble.

if it doesnt, the problem is elsewhere. i read about a lot of people bypassing the commonly faulty circuit breaker with an inline fuse. in fact, it sounds like something that should be done as a preemptive fix. only thing is, where is that located? under the seat... but then im not sure where/which breaker it is. any way to figure that out? just start pulling them and see what happens?

between those 2 things, we should have it fixed. if not, the problem might be in some "buss" box that is under the seat. couldnt find any real info on that, but apparently if that is corroded, other things would be causing havoc too.

if we cant find the problem though, im thinking that we could jump a toggle where the temp switch is located.

side note.. is it important to use special antifreeze in these machines?
idiggplants is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 04-09-2013, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
dman66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oley,Pa.
Posts: 2,770
I'm right down the road from Fleetwood,if you guys needed some help,or to view a brute with these mods already.

05 Brute 750i Stock engine/ Muzzy Pro exhaust,Dynatec cdi,Vision Bruiser 14" wheels, 26" Bear Claw HTR Tires,3" intake snorkle - restricted,2" CVT snorkles,10" electric fan with custom mount,Mr Gasket Fuel Pump ,rejetted at #40 pilots,2 3/4 out on A/F screws,stock needles shimmed .030",# 158/# 158 main Jets
dman66 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 04-09-2013, 04:55 PM
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
brutemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: cononsburg pa
Posts: 148
Re: BF 750 fan

Do the breaker first real simple then more to the next thing of that don't work but I would put money on it that this is the problem. The breaker sits rite beside the the belt reset plug under the seat.Its not in with the fuses.
brutemike is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 04-09-2013, 04:57 PM
apd
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Elk Grove
Posts: 1
How do I post my own topic/question?
apd is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Kawasaki ATV Forum > Kawasaki ATV Performance / Maintenance / Technical > Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ATV Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Search tags for this page
05 750 brute fan not turning on
,

07 brute force 750 fan switch

,
750 brute force fan toggle swicth
,
750 brute force fan will not run
,
750 brute force is fan not running
,
brute force 750 radiator fan override
,
h radiator fan on kawasaki 750 bf
,
kawaski model 750bf fan switch location
,
locate brute force 750 fan switch to put toggle switch
,
radiator fan on kawasaki 750 bf video breaker reset
,
will low coolant level cause my fan to not kick on? polaris
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome