2008 Brute Force 650 Carb Questions - Kawasaki ATV Forum
Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou Kawasaki's strong and reliable utility ATVs

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 04-21-2017, 08:33 AM Thread Starter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

2008 Brute Force 650 Carb Questions

Newbie here... I recently purchased a used 2008 Brute Force 650 (KVF650E) which had been setting for at least a few months and, as expected, the gas went bad and plugged the carbs. The bike has about 300 miles on it. After some initial work (see below) I now have it starting easily and it accelerates well, but the engine won't idle -- it dies without the choke being partially open or with some help from the throttle. The A/F screw seems to have no effect (regardless of where I put it) and the idle adjustment hand screw is all the way in. The diaphragms appear to move smoothly under throttle. I can adjust the throttle cable to prevent the engine from dying, but it's idling way too high at that point.
So far I've:

1)Installed a carb rebuild jet with all new jets, a/f screw (gasket included), gaskets, diaphragm air jets. Main jets are sized at 142 and at 40 for the pilot for both carbs.
2)Cleaned the card multiple times.
3)Drained and refilled the tank with "real" gas.
4)Disassembled the carbs and soaked the bodies in cleaner
5)Checked/adjusted the valves
6)Installed new foam air filter/ (Kawasaki brand.)
7)Replaced the fuel filter -- which I'm now wondering if it's restricting field at low RPMs?
8)Inspected the boots at the top and bottom of the carbs and don't see any signs of cracks.
9)Replaced one diaphragm -- due to me damaging it