Brute Shut off, no display, no lights, won't start again - Kawasaki ATV Forum
Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou Kawasaki's strong and reliable utility ATVs

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 Old 06-14-2017, 04:07 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Bradford, PA
Posts: 16
Garage
Brute Shut off, no display, no lights, won't start again

I had just finished replacing the tie rods/ends, ball joints, control arm bushings, wheel bearings, and the front and rear diff fluid on my 2011 FVF750D i purchased about 3 weeks ago. Naturally, after all that time and work I wanted to take it for a ride. I made it about 200 yds and the whole quad shut down on me. The display and headlights shut off along with the engine and there was no restarting it. I noticed while I was pushing it back into the garage that when the key was on and wheels were turning that the display would come on intermittently. I left it on the battery charger overnight but have not had a chance to check it yet. So, I am asking the wise people here at kawieriders if you have ever experienced something similar. Or if this sounds like a problem any of you are familiar with.
tonyb443 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 37 Old 06-14-2017, 04:13 AM
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Gusgua1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Beaverlodge
Posts: 136
Check fuses. There is a main fuse. Mine are under the seat. But mine is 2007.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Gusgua1 is online now  
post #3 of 37 Old 06-14-2017, 04:15 AM
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Gusgua1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Beaverlodge
Posts: 136
Could be blown corroded or loose


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Gusgua1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 37 Old 06-14-2017, 04:18 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Bradford, PA
Posts: 16
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gusgua1 View Post
Check fuses. There is a main fuse. Mine are under the seat. But mine is 2007.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Do you know the impedance of the main fuse? or is it advisable to pull them all and check? I just found it strange that the lights and gauge pod would come on while I was pushing it back into the garage like it was getting power somehow. I will be checking the battery charger when I leave for work in about a half hour.
tonyb443 is offline  
post #5 of 37 Old 06-14-2017, 06:08 AM
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Gusgua1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Beaverlodge
Posts: 136
Pull them all I did. Hurt nothing


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Gusgua1 is online now  
post #6 of 37 Old 06-14-2017, 06:09 AM
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Gusgua1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Beaverlodge
Posts: 136
Or use a rest light


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Gusgua1 is online now  
post #7 of 37 Old 06-14-2017, 06:10 AM
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 34
Check the fuse in the starter solenoid. It should be a 30A fuse if you pop the harness going into it. If the terminals in the plug of the solenoid get loose or corroded, it will break contact, sometimes causing the dash to flicker and/or shut off, and cause the bike to lose power.

If the fuse feels loose, take a blade or flathead screwdriver and gently push the prongs together to make it tighter when you insert the fuse.
NCBrute650 is offline  
post #8 of 37 Old 06-14-2017, 06:12 AM
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Gusgua1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Beaverlodge
Posts: 136
After mine went I soldered in a watertight inline fuse holder


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Gusgua1 is online now  
post #9 of 37 Old 06-14-2017, 06:17 AM
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
dman66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oley,Pa.
Posts: 2,835
Sounds like you have a poor or loose ground connection somewhere probably on the frame or battery. And check the fuses and fuse wires going to the fuses.
dman66 is offline  
post #10 of 37 Old 06-14-2017, 09:04 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Bradford, PA
Posts: 16
Garage
well i now know what caused the problem. i just dont know what sort of issue that its caused. i pulled my seat off and noticed some melted wire casings. traced the wires and found loose ends where the winch is, and none connected to the winch. im guessing something grounded out or shorted. will have to do a little more investigating. Thank you all for the suggestions
tonyb443 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Kawasaki ATV Forum > Kawasaki ATV Performance / Maintenance / Technical > Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ATV Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Brute Force 300 hard to start UtahBrute Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou 5 06-19-2015 12:45 PM
Brute ft force 650 won't start Red94ford Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou 21 04-19-2015 04:00 PM
no start on 09 brute 750...please help!! like_to_burn_gas Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou 4 08-29-2012 02:07 PM
Brute Force Shuts off won't start until you reset? Truble Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou 17 03-31-2012 06:44 PM
Brute force 650 almost impossible to start. CoopDawg Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou 5 11-13-2006 02:18 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome