Kawasaki ATV Forum Header   Kawasaki ATV Forum Header Right
Go Back   Kawasaki ATV Forum > Kawasaki ATV Performance / Maintenance / Technical > Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou

Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou Kawasaki's strong and reliable utility ATVs

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2010, 08:57 AM   #1
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: springfield, illinois
Posts: 55
View 4bratsdad's Photo Gallery(4)
Default brute force limp-mode??

is there a limp mode on the brutes? i have an06 750i, has 150hrs, 400miles, doesnt seem like its quite what it used to be, im going to be doing my cooling mods, impellor, oil cooler, synt oil, temp guage next week, and i picked up a dyna cdi, the thing that scares me is that the service guy at dealer sais he never heard of a limp mode on any kawi, i have read the dyna bypasses the belt light, when i called my dealer on the belt light they told me that the belt probably needed replaced 3-400 dollar repair wouldnt know till they tore into it, and that i had to bring it in, thank god for this sight
4bratsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
KawieRiders is the premier Kawasaki ATV Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Old 02-21-2010, 10:52 AM   #2
J2!
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
J2!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alabama
Posts: 164
View J2!'s Photo Gallery(0)
Default

Yes they have a limp mode.. And the Dyna WILL bypass that, also it will bypass the reverse limiter.. But, if yours is in limp mode, it won't run more than a few miles an hour.. There is a switch in the belt housing that will need to be reset.. Usually they won't trip the switch unless you shred a belt or something.. The dyna cdi will make a VERY noticable difference for sure.. I wouldn't ask the dealer for any more advise if I were you !! Just search this forum and you will find everything you need. Also, if you have not had your valves adjusted since you had it, you might want to look into that.. There are ALOT of knowledgable people here that don't mind helping at all, which makes this an AWSOME website !!!! Hope this helps.
__________________
06' Arctic Cat Tony Stewart Edition - AMR 840 -And A Beer Cooler!!




www.bamaboggers.com


Powered By Argo Powersports

Sponsors:
Argo Power
Rubberdown Customs
Atv Direct
Mad Motorsports
Yasky Atv
J2! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 01:42 PM   #3
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
o8bruteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 19
View o8bruteman's Photo Gallery(0)
Default

If you shreaded your belt that is an easy fix and if its in limp mode you will know you can only go like 7 mph you can buy a belt from dealer for around 80 dollars or go with a after market one like j2 said the only time it trips is if belt is shreaded....Have you owned this bike since it was new if so your 100 hour belt lite should of come on for tune up...hope it helps
o8bruteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 03:48 PM   #4
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: springfield, illinois
Posts: 55
View 4bratsdad's Photo Gallery(4)
Default

thanks for the tips guys the more i read these posts the more i hate the dealer, & yes i did buy it there, &they took me for extended warranty, problems from the beginning that they tried to charge me for, and they did tell me i needed to get it in to them on the belt light thing and that i was looking at least a 300 repair,they have a sister dealership the one that told me never heard of limp mode, quoted me price of 125. for first service and that they adjust the valves with that, but u can see why i might be distrusting, the other store wanted 800 for the first serv, thats why it had never been done, i hate theives liars and crooks, i thought about takin it to a dealer in st louis, but its 2 1/2 hours, thanks again guys!
4bratsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 10:01 PM   #5
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
View thiesc2's Photo Gallery(0)
Default 05 Brute Force 750 Limp mode

I had my belt light on, took off the primary cover made sure switch was in the on position, put it back together, belt looked fine, not my belt light is blinking and the machine is in limp mode, can anyone help me with instructions on how to reset the machine.

Greatly appreciated
thiesc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 11:09 PM   #6
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 142
View bones22's Photo Gallery(0)
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by 4bratsdad View Post
thanks for the tips guys the more i read these posts the more i hate the dealer, & yes i did buy it there, &they took me for extended warranty, problems from the beginning that they tried to charge me for, and they did tell me i needed to get it in to them on the belt light thing and that i was looking at least a 300 repair,they have a sister dealership the one that told me never heard of limp mode, quoted me price of 125. for first service and that they adjust the valves with that, but u can see why i might be distrusting, the other store wanted 800 for the first serv, thats why it had never been done, i hate theives liars and crooks, i thought about takin it to a dealer in st louis, but its 2 1/2 hours, thanks again guys!
i realize this is an older thread but the last post bumped it up. anyway you have got to be talking about RTD Motorsports. is that correct
bones22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Back to Top    Lower Navigation
Go Back   Kawasaki ATV Forum > Kawasaki ATV Performance / Maintenance / Technical > Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou


Search tags for this page
2005 750 brute force limp mode
,
2006 brute force 750 limp mode
,
750 brute force limp mode
,
750 brute force will not come out of limp mode
,
brute force 750 limp mode
,

brute force 750 limp mode reset

,

brute force limp mode

,
brute force limp mode reset
,
how to get kawasaki bruteforce 750 out of limp mode
,
kawasaki brute force 650 in limp mode
,
limp mode fix brute force 750
,
reseting limp mode switch on a kawasaki brute force 750
,
what will io6 california brute force do in limp mode
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help ! Possible Limp Mode Help ! ORNERYAZHELL Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou 6 12-18-2009 12:15 PM
need help with limp mode P700Moss Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou 2 10-15-2008 07:10 PM
05 brute going into limp mode? dgraham225 Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou 9 06-30-2008 06:42 AM
limp mode after 4 hrs. MEL Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou 4 05-06-2005 10:18 AM
limp mode ? skooter525 Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou 5 10-04-2004 10:20 AM

» Discount Tire
Motosport.com

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 AM.