Kawasaki ATV Forum Header   Kawasaki ATV Forum Header Right
Go Back   Kawasaki ATV Forum > Kawasaki ATV Performance / Maintenance / Technical > Kawasaki Mojave/Lakota

Kawasaki Mojave/Lakota The revolutionary long-lasting Mojave, and it's close cousin

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2011, 09:26 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

View johnh's Photo Gallery(0)
Default Kawasaki lakota 300 backfires & coughs above idle running rich

Hi,
I'm a newbie here. I have a 2001 Lakota sport that backfires and coughs above idle. I have adjusted the valves, cleaned the carberator, checked the diaphram in the carberator, made sure the choke is closing. It idles fine but as soon as you give it gas, it pukes black smoke. It gets worse as it warms up so I know that it is running too rich. I have researched this online. It seems to be something that stumps a lot of people but I have not found any solutions online. Any help would be appreciated.
The bike might have 20 hours on it. It sat for a while. I got it from the original owner with no mods. It is totally stock.
johnh is offline   Reply With Quote
KawieRiders is the premier Kawasaki ATV Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Old 01-07-2011, 07:17 AM   #2
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

View Timberwolf 8199's Photo Gallery(1)

Running lean can cause a black smoke. Usually rich conditions produce more of a gray smoke....have you smelled it, does the exhaust smell like gas?