Kawasaki ATV Forum Header   Kawasaki ATV Forum Header Right
Go Back   Kawasaki ATV Forum > Kawasaki ATV Performance / Maintenance / Technical > Kawasaki Mojave/Lakota

Kawasaki Mojave/Lakota The revolutionary long-lasting Mojave, and it's close cousin

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2010, 04:36 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

View RAMMBRUTE's Photo Gallery(0)
Lightbulb Mojave/Ninja EX500 engine swap

Hi all,

I have embarked on a project that I think will be a match made in heaven. I have done quite a bit of armchair research and believe that a 87-'09 500cc Ninja/EX 500/GPZ500 engine would be almost the ideal candidate for the Mojo chassis. Now before all the naysayers chime in let me be the first to say that this project will not be for the faint of heart and nor will the result. I am a skilled CNC machinist/welder/fabricator/engine builder so as far as making it happen that is covered. I know that weight will invariably increase and I also don't want to lose reverse. However I will trade reverse for a sixth gear and electric start Also it would seem that these 500cc engines are basically two Mojave engines put together (they even use the same pistons, valves, springs etc...) Now here's the best part--they produce 50+hp rev to 11,500 rpm and the parts are friggin cheap compared to the gouging you get when trying to get a Mojo part. I'm fed up with my son's Mojo engine and that is what spurred this on. So I will document, and share as I go if there's interest. I do and will need some help along the way I'm sure. In fact I could use some help locating a complete '90 and up 500 Ninja parts bike for relatively cheap. Also does anyone know the overall height of these powerplants. Will be posting pics soon. Any thoughts? Bring on the comments good or bad. J.Rob
RAMMBRUTE is offline   Reply With Quote
KawieRiders is the premier Kawasaki ATV Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!