2015 Mule loss of engine power - Kawasaki ATV Forum
Kawasaki Mule Discussions for the Kawasaki Mule UTV (Kawasaki Mule Forum)

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 06-18-2017, 03:16 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: West Columbia, TX
Posts: 3
Thumbs down 2015 Mule loss of engine power

I'm on my 2nd Mule and wouldn't consider anything else. As a matter of fact, my 2015 just turned 7,000 miles. Problem, my wife and I were leaving the ranch yesterday (about 5 miles from the house) and the engine lost power. Had to limp home... The best way I can describe it is like a boat motor with a fouled plug, or an older car engine that jumped time. It acts like it's hitting on only 2 cylinders. I replaced the plugs to no avail. Please let me know if any of you have experienced this or have any suggestions. I'm still in warranty but of course my little dealer can't get me in for 2 weeks. Please Help!!!
dekesand is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 06-18-2017, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 176
7000 miles, wow! My 2015 is around 500 right now.

Is the check engine light on or flashing? If I remember right I read that you can use the buttons on the gauge pod to enter "diagnostic mode" which will make the engine light flash a different pattern based on and codes/sensor readings. I have a service manual and I'll try to remember where I saw that and try to get you some more details. Good luck.
Deerhunter4 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 06-18-2017, 05:39 PM
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: SC
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dekesand View Post
I'm on my 2nd Mule and wouldn't consider anything else. As a matter of fact, my 2015 just turned 7,000 miles. Problem, my wife and I were leaving the ranch yesterday (about 5 miles from the house) and the engine lost power. Had to limp home... The best way I can describe it is like a boat motor with a fouled plug, or an older car engine that jumped time. It acts like it's hitting on only 2 cylinders. I replaced the plugs to no avail. Please let me know if any of you have experienced this or have any suggestions. I'm still in warranty but of course my little dealer can't get me in for 2 weeks. Please Help!!!
Coil pack?

https://www.ebay.com/i/162483492567?chn=ps&dispItem=1
SCsimpleman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 06-19-2017, 06:23 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: West Columbia, TX
Posts: 3
No engine light on. If you find the manual I'd appreciate the help.
Thanks...
dekesand is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 06-19-2017, 06:38 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: West Columbia, TX
Posts: 3
SCsimpleman Thank You for the recommendation. I followed your link but I only see the three coil/plug wires. once I saw your post it hit me like a brick. It probably wouldn't hurt to replace the wires, but I think I may need the coil itself. There are three of them. Should I replace all 3 of them or do you think I'm way off base???
dekesand is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-19-2017, 07:17 PM
Junior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: SC
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dekesand View Post
SCsimpleman Thank You for the recommendation. I followed your link but I only see the three coil/plug wires. once I saw your post it hit me like a brick. It probably wouldn't hurt to replace the wires, but I think I may need the coil itself. There are three of them. Should I replace all 3 of them or do you think I'm way off base???
The coil packs themselves should have a particular ohm value, although I'm not sure what it is. If you ohm all three, one should have a different reading "if" that one is bad. You could order one and test for the bad one while waiting for delivery, but I'd replace all three and be done.
SCsimpleman is online now  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Kawasaki ATV Forum > Kawasaki ATV Performance / Maintenance / Technical > Kawasaki Mule

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ATV Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mule 610 no power at key rtm93 Kawasaki Mule 5 01-08-2017 08:54 PM
Mule 550 with no bottom end power clintparish Kawasaki Mule 2 10-29-2015 03:58 AM
BF750 Loss of power :( jlhurst21 Kawasaki Brute Force/Prairie/Bayou 4 02-16-2015 09:20 AM
Temp light on loss of power HELP kyle2122 Kawasaki KFX700 V-Force 0 07-29-2010 07:43 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome