Kawasaki ATV Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:) Hi !

I'm new to Kawasaki ATV's and their clutch systems.
( so I'm trying to learn )

1. Where to find rebuild kits for the clutches ?
2. Which year models have the same primary clutch and thereby are interchangeable ?
3. Any company that sells clutch upgrades for the Kawasaki clutches ?

4. KEBC, I never ride down steep slopes or steep terrain, Do I need it ?
5. Is it doable to use the drive clutch from KFX700 on the 650 V-twin ?

6. What's the point of the drive belt warning light ?

🤔

·
Registered
245 Posts
The clutches are all interchangeable. The differences are in the springs and ramp weights. So yes, you can use a KFX700 clutch, but you will have to change the ramp weights or the rev/shift out won’t be correct for the specific bike.

There’s not really a rebuild “kit”. If you have to replace the spacers/shoes, spider, or sheaves, you have to order those individually from a Kawi dealer or parts place like Partzilla, Babbits, or Motosport. Go to one of those sites and enter you make/model info to see exploded diagrams. Also, you’ll need to reference a manual to know what specs the individual parts will need to be. You can download the manuals online and it’s a good place to wrap your head around what you’re about to dive into.

·
Registered
3,374 Posts
People usually leave the clutch rebuilding or clutch mods to vforcejohn @ Interstate Motorsports. He can be found on facebook or on this site under the vendor page.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
1. The clutches are all interchangeable.
The differences are in the springs and ramp weights.
Yes, you can use a KFX700 clutch, but you will have to change the ramp weights or the rev/shift out won’t be correct for the specific bike.

2. There’s not really a rebuild “kit”.