Kawasaki ATV Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,319 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I see there are a couple of ways of tuning A/F mixtures. There are gauges and the LM 1 or 2.

Some of you guys are using the LM1. Does that work correctly with duel exhaust? And if so where should the bung be placed to be accurate.

I know it needs a power source. It shows it comes with a lighter plug. What do i need for the V

And since i'm just learning as i go (with a great site and a great bunch of guys) is it user friendly and a good idea for a novice.

I guess i'm a little anal and like things as perfect as they can be and i don't trust anybody where I live to tune my bike right.

Thank you in advance for any feedback. LM

·
Registered
209 Posts
Yes it will work with the duals... You can only tune one at a time with the LM1... i do not own a LM2 but i believe it allows you to tune both at the same time but it is more $$$. For an accurate tune the LM1 works fine for the $. This is what i have and use.

You will need to weld a bung into your exhaust aprox 6-8" from the head. or as close to that deminsion as you can get with everything in the way.

Very simple to use. It will give you a decimal # and you will try to get as close to 12.5 as you can. higher is leaner and lower is richer.

For the 12V source you can go as cheap as a cigrette lighter wired into your battery hanging out of the seat or you can actually mount a water resistant 12V cigrette lighter. Good luck:D

·
Registered
209 Posts
local dealership should have one. i paid $17 ish for mine. nice neat mount with a black rubber plug/cover. looks good.

·
Registered
10,321 Posts
Innovate Motorsports makes a nice LC-1 A/F Meter that you mount on the quad and gives you real time A/F readings. It's small compact and easy to install.

·
Registered
2,583 Posts