Kawasaki ATV Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,635 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a couple of carbon fiber guards that I am thinking of using on my V, but they need to be trimmed a little to fit. They are are made from thin, slightly flexible carbon fiber sheets with a high gloss finish. Any ideas on the best way to cut them? I've never worked with cf before and I really don't want to screw them up. Thanks!

·
Registered
79 Posts
my best guess would be to use a dremel with a cutting wheel.

·
Premium Member
6,975 Posts
If it is thin enough, use a razor blade. A dremmell will work, but it may try to fray like a rope, so have some glue or resin available to recoat the cut edge

·
Premium Member
1,635 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Its a little too thick for a razor, so I'll probably tape it off and try the Dremel. I had to trim the hood a little and used a belt sander, but I've got to take too much off the guards to sand it off.

·
Premium Member
23,817 Posts
true carbon fiber, razor won't do you any good, jig saw is marginal, cut off wheel is best

·
Registered
640 Posts
I would agree with a cut-off wheel, and sometimes called wafer-wheel too. Maybe good duct tape over it, draw your line and then cut it. I'm only guessing here I've never done it but it is what I would try. If you have a piece of scrap to try different techniques would be best.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Jig saw can be pretty effective if you have a lot of radius curves. cut off wheel would be optimum. Be sure to wear a mask!!!

·
Registered
640 Posts
Redrum,
Why would it explode, I don't understand ???

·
Registered
61 Posts