Kawasaki ATV Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Complete newbie here. I have never worked on an ATV before.

I have a 2011 Kawasaki Prairie 360 that runs flawlessly, but has never been serviced and has finally reached an estimated 100 hours. (I got it in new condition with about 10 hours on it.) So I have a few things I want/need to do:

1) Find out why it's always been so slow.
2) Clean/re-jet my carb.
3) Replace the drive belt
4) Adjust the valve clearance (Starting to take longer to warm up in colder weather)

My biggest concern is the carb work, and it being so slow. (@35mph) My 2005 would dust this one. When purchased, the PO said it sat for 4 years with old gas in it, and I should clean the carbs, but it ran flawlessly, so I never did.

Here are some questions:
  1. Is there a particular carb rebuild kit you guys would recommend? Any specific jets or orifices that improve performance, especially in the cold? Links would be appreciated!
  2. What else could restrict fuel flow or make it so slow? Fuel lines, maybe?
  3. A friend recommended that I go on Amazon, buy a $59 carb and keep riding. Does this seem like good advice? Do they perform the same?
All thoughts or comments are appreciated. I have no pride- tell me anything you think would help.

Thanks!

·
Registered
64 Posts