Kawasaki ATV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 95 mojave ksf250. I've replaced the rings, 2 springs on the intake valves, reseated the valves, new gaskets and valve seals. When i kick it, i only get around 40lbs of compression, but it doesn't hold it, it leaks off. I'm new to atvs, but i have done mechanics most of my life. Am i missing something. Possible crack in the head, or otherwise. I've redone the timing and its dead on. So, right now i'm kinda lost. Any help is much appreciated....

·
Super Moderator
5,289 Posts
Well..it has a compression release so the normal range would be about 35-66psi being cranked at or under 300 rpms. A service manual would confirm this. As for leakage it will through the ring gaps if nothing else quite quickly. Does it not run?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
OK thanks. I don't have a way to do a leak down test. How can I chk the compression release to make sure it's working right. What I mean is. If it is working at cranking lbs, could it be stuck while it's running. ? And not let the compression build. Just asking. Idk know how the compression release is supposed to work.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
So I got my carb and still trying to get it running. No luck. It fires but it's short lived. I bought a new spark plug. No change. But my issue is I the k timing. As soon as it hits compression stroke I get compression, but right after, I get blowout thru the carb. It used to run decent, but I had to fluctuate with the choke to keep it running. But now it's hard to even get it running.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·