Kawasaki ATV Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to this site and new to my kfx 700.I just bought an 04 700. It has duel supertrapps ids2, twin air filter, and the guy I bought it from said it is jetted. Im not a mechanic but it seems to be running a little rich. it has some black sut crap that spits out from the end and around where it is clamped to the header pipe. Any suggestions would help. And one other thing I see everybody does the 12 hole air box mod , mine has a 15 hole mod each hole around 3/4" would this be ok.

·
Registered
2,369 Posts
Im new to this site and new to my kfx 700.I just bought an 04 700. It has duel supertrapps ids2, twin air filter, and the guy I bought it from said it is jetted. Im not a mechanic but it seems to be running a little rich. it has some black sut crap that spits out from the end and around where it is clamped to the header pipe. Any suggestions would help. And one other thing I see everybody does the 12 hole air box mod , mine has a 15 hole mod each hole around 3/4" would this be ok.
Welcome to KR

The 15 3/4" holes are fine---You might as well go through the V and check things out for yourself---Pull the plugs and see what they look like---The supertrapps are adjustable at the end---Find out where your at on those---Do they need re-packing---Pull the mains and read what size they are----Turn the a/f screws all the way in then back them out about 2 1/2 turns---Go to the other side and check the slides---You'll want to clean and polish them---Most of the guys that have the 12 hole mod also add a #4 shim to needles, cut the springs back 1/2-3/4", and polish the slides, (the shims on the needles will actually make you a little fatter on idle/low range)

Kenny

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the advice, But would repacking the exhaust make a difference.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #4