Kawasaki ATV Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently got this Brute and it wont start up:mad: First and only thing Ive done is buy a new battery. She hasn't been cranked on for about 2-3 years so obviously she wasn't going to start up right off the back:eek:. I'm no expert at this, I just want to know which parts usually always go bad after a couple of years of no action (hopefully not everything:cry:), spark plugs, carburetor, all that good stuff, so that I can replace what's needed to have her turn on before I have to take it into a shop if necessary:hmm:

P.S: Gas throttle is completely stuck, so maybe new throttle cable or throttle piston? I just got her so hopefully she doesn't need too much, any help?:wacko:

·
Registered
173 Posts
If your throttle wont move your carbs are probably all gummed up from the old gas. They will have to come off and be cleaned and rebuilt. Dragon fire works great and will clean all that nasty gunk out. You will want to drain that old gas out of the tank and flush it too. You can try taking out the air cleaner and screen and giving it a shot of starting fluid (either) to see if it fires first but not for long, just to see if it fires. Good luck

·
Registered
1,276 Posts
Recently got this Brute and it wont start up:mad: First and only thing Ive done is buy a new battery. She hasn't been cranked on for about 2-3 years so obviously she wasn't going to start up right off the back:eek:. I'm no expert at this, I just want to know which parts usually always go bad after a couple of years of no action (hopefully not everything:cry:), spark plugs, carburetor, all that good stuff, so that I can replace what's needed to have her turn on before I have to take it into a shop if necessary:hmm:

P.S: Gas throttle is completely stuck, so maybe new throttle cable or throttle piston? I just got her so hopefully she doesn't need too much, any help?:wacko: