Kawasaki ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,069 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I have had some experience with strokers on other type motors and had some questions on what builders are doing on our V-twin motors.
The first question is anyone taking stock cranks and having them welded up and offset ground to get a stroker crank, and how well do they hold up if anyone has done this.
The second question is how much can you go till you start having interference problems.
The third question is how are you making room for more for the piston travel.(Putting spacers under the cyl., moving pin in the piston, or so on.
I know that if you increase the stroke of the crank 2mm you increase the piston travel 4mm's (2mm at the top and 2mm at the bottom) So how is the builders making room for the travel.
I know in the previous strokers I have worked on you could buy after market cyl. that were taller to allow for the piston travel. Or used spacers that went under the cyl..

Thanks

·
Premium Member
16,645 Posts
Give VFJ,Glenn or Ray a call,they all can answer your questions.
I've seen that info posted by all of them,but I don't remember the details.

·
Premium Member
16,645 Posts

·
Registered
7,488 Posts
Glenn
Camo
RPM
Badhear
Monkey
Gauge
GNR
Kenny
Z-man
Vadar...

There are just so many strokers... this will take a while.

·
Premium Member
22,489 Posts
:lol:

·
Premium Member
1,069 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
The main reason I want to know is that I have a crank that has had a bearing spun on it. I am planning on building a motor anyway. So I was thinking of getting the crank reground with a 2mm offset and ordering a set of pistons with the wrist pin moved up 2mm's. But at what point do you have interference problems with timing shaft. And will the standard cyl. length handle the 4mm of extra travel.