Kawasaki ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are there any causes for limp mode other than the belt switch? I have an 04 Prairie 700. I replaced the belt and ran a jumper wire to the belt switch any how. Reset belt light and it went away, yet the motor still act as if in limp mode. I don't think it has anything to do with the carbs. It have been in a fair amount of water in a creek. I've also replaced the battery. I have Dynatek CDI as well as the stock one. It seems the KEBC actuator is function when I turn the key on and off. If anyone has any insight, I would greatly appreciate it. The dealer suggested I replace the belt (which I did afterward) and wanted $100 for the belt, $100 to replace it, and $300 to shim sheaves if necessary which it was because I had taken them out for the old belt. I am a heavy equipment mechanic so needless to say, I did all the repairs in my shop at work for about $50. I just need a little suggestions from some one that knows more than me or that has been in my shoes. Thanks!

·
Registered
4,219 Posts
i thought the dyna got rid of the limp mode?

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah me too. The only difference when the belt light was on was with the stock cd,i the belt light would remain on after the ignition switch was turned on. With the dynatek it flashed once then appears normal. However the engine would remain in limp mode either way. As of now, the computer has been reset and I have no lights flashing, but the engine still appears to be in limp mode..

·
Registered
4,219 Posts
i guess i would get a manual and check wires to the cdi and kebc, if you have a stock cdi use that and see if its open and get the light reset, then you can see if its the dyna giving you problems

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #5