Kawasaki ATV Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone tell me what equations they use to design new a-arms? I am a CNC machinist and have access to the equipment to make them to exceed oem but need the formula to make + sizes thank you. ps I will be using chromoly

·
Registered
1,936 Posts
Just think about changing the ball joint location, move it out 2" or 3" what ever you prefer, and some are 1" forward, meaning away from the rider. This is where the +2+1 comes from.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So all that is done is relocating the ball joints at the factory angles +2, the change is the same on lower and upper? Why would you want to move it forward or backward? Thank you sir.

·
Registered
1,936 Posts
Your angles of the tubing is going to change but pay close attention to the ball joint socket angle in relation to the tubing, don't want your ball joints to lock out while riding.
Here is a pic of my +4+1's that I built.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks for info and pics! Why do you put the bend in the lowers? Is it for ground clearance? Did you use chromoly? what did you do for the rear...new axle or wheel spacers? thank you for your time

·
Registered
1,936 Posts
thanks for info and pics! Why do you put the bend in the lowers? Is it for ground clearance? Did you use chromoly? what did you do for the rear...new axle or wheel spacers? thank you for your time
The bend in the lower a-arms is for the longer shocks (kfx450r), the tubing is 1"od .065 wall dom mild steel. The upper a-arms have slight bends also, if you do the +1 forward you will need to bend the back tube a bit to clear the shock. For the axle it is a durablue extended axle, not sure where your gonna get one though. I got 2 of them from east coast atv but I called a few weeds ago and they said they ran out and durablue does not make them any more.

Here is another set of +3's I built.

·
Registered
16 Posts