Kawasaki ATV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought an 05 650 Brute force and I am having a couple issues. The bike is bone stock and has roughly 1400 miles. I rode with a couple friends of mine the other day (1 has an identical Brute Force 650 all stock, and the other has an 04 Suzuki twin peaks 700). I am new to the utility quad world, and I was blown away when I rode the other 2 machines and realized how bad mine ran.

My bike was really boggy and ran like crap compared to the other 2. I could only get it to around 42-45 MPH and it didnt seem to REV as high as the other 650. The other Brute ran neck and neck with the Twin Peaks, and I was left in the dust. Traction wasn't an issue, the machine was definitely not running right.

Took it back to the dealer and they put a new belt on it and leaned it out a bit and it runs much better, but still not as strong as the other 2. I can get it to 55 now, but it takes a min to get there, and it still doesn't seem like it revs as high as the other Brute.

I'm wondering if the valves could be out of adjustment a bit, but not sure cause it starts fine. I'm familiar with clutching issues on snowmobiles, so it kinda seems like it could be that or the jetting is still off. I checked the air filter, and it is brand new. I'm kinda stumped. That other Brute bout pulled my arms out of their sockets in comparison. (BTW, the other Brute did recently have issues starting.A local shop adjusted the valves, so it is probably running close to brand new, nonetheless, mine should be right there with his.)

Anybody else had similar problems?? I'm new in the Brute world, so just looking for any ideas. With stock clutching, what jetting setup should be close?? Anything else that might cause issues like that?? I ran a full tank of fresh 91 Octane through it, so i don't think it was bad fuel.

Little more info:
45 Degree ambient temp, 4400 feet in elevation.