Kawasaki ATV Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok i'm new to the 700s, so help me out some. My bike is bone stock minus the HMF single exhaust. I rarely ever ride it. I went on a decent ride last night, probly about 4 hours or so. Woke up today and realized how filthy it was so I washed it. Almost as soon as I got done washing, I rode it around the yard, and the oil light came on. Its not glowing "wide open" yet, if you know what I mean. (simular to when the fuel light barely glows right when you first start to run a tad bit low on fuel)...........What i'm saying is it isn't FULLY illuminated, but its there. I checked the oil level and its not at the top of the cross hatches on the dip stick but it is not low. Anyone ever had problems with the oil light coming on after a good wash?? Can't find my owners manual (actually didn't wanna look for it), but it is a low oil light, or low oil PRESSURE light? I didn't have much time to mess with it as I had somewhere to go, and I was getting some hunting stuff together all evening. No odd motor noises, oil level is ok, sounds like it runs perfect.

·
Registered
8,150 Posts
The lights should be all or nothing. Either on or off..to my knowledge there is no variance/dimmer on them. It is an oil pressure light. Perhaps water in the connection?

·
Premium Member
22,490 Posts
Yes, it is moisture in a connection. You should go through the entire quad and put dielectric grease in every connection you can find.

·
Registered
2,926 Posts
Code:
but it is a low oil light, or low oil PRESSURE light?
know what you are talking about with the low oil light, my Yamaha road bike has one of those!!
however on these kawies, that oil light is for low oil pressure!!

glad you gave all the facts, as after a goos wash, think all you have is water on the contact on the sensor!!

have had that many times after crossing rivers and playing in the water with the quad!!
once dry the light will go off!!