Kawasaki ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Super Moderator
9,447 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Weighing my options for a Boondocker nitrous kit. Just curious what is the best set-up for 300' sand drags.

OPTIONS:

A) 1 nitrous bottle or 2 nitrous bottles (does 2 bottles only mean it lasts longer, or do you also get a performance benefit too?),

B ) 1 manifold or 2 manifolds (I'm guessing 2 manifolds might be better so you can have 1 manifold directly above each venturi stack...is that right???),

C) Regulator or no regulator? (I heard that no regulator makes the nitrous hit harder off the line...is that true?),

D) What is a purge kit and is it necessary?

E) Is a heater wrap for the bottle really needed if I live in Texas (its warm most of the year)?

Any other tips/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I'm a newbie to nitrous, so forgive me if I asked something stupid in this post.

Happy trails...:)

·
Premium Member
22,490 Posts
A) 1 nitrous bottle or 2 nitrous bottles (does 2 bottles only mean it lasts longer, or do you also get a performance benefit too?),
Two bottles just means you have more nitrous. No performance gains. It does look nasty though.

B ) 1 manifold or 2 manifolds (I'm guessing 2 manifolds might be better so you can have 1 manifold directly above each venturi stack...is that right???),
You are correct or you can get a dual manifold. It has two nozzles in one.

C) Regulator or no regulator? (I heard that no regulator makes the nitrous hit harder off the line...is that true?)
I installed a regulator with the big white pill. It allows you to adjust your NOS shot but mine did not work from new... so it came off. A nitrous controller is what gives you a softer hit off the line and gradually gets bigger. You do not need this for any shot under 50.

D) What is a purge kit and is it necessary?