Kawasaki ATV Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I bought a not running 06 Prairie 700 team Green edition fairly cheap. Hadn't run in a couple years apparently. So brought it home cleaned carbs, new plugs, new battery and set valves ( may have been a botched attempt by PO?). One of each cylinder intake valve with zero clearance , and exhaust valves extremely loose. It fired up awesome after I had all that done. But, it has a NASTY rapping sound increasing with rpm. Occasionally if it idled low enough it disappears momentarily.Any ideas where to start? It has 5600 miles and 740 hrs.0
Will try to get a link up to a video.
Thanks for your help, I'm a newb to Prairies but have done a 400 Eiger and a couple single m/c engines before. Do all my own service on all our motorcycles as well.
https://youtu.be/eVm3xvtXj2

·
Super Moderator
5,589 Posts
Too high to be a rod..at least from the audio I hear. Recheck all your valve lashes and be 100% sure you are on TDC of the compression stroke, not the exhaust stroke. Lots make that mistake. Take a compression test too to see if all is well. The way it stops and starts sometimes reminds me of a dropped valve stuck in the guide. In any case I wouldn't run it any more until the problem is found and fixed. Those engines are not cheap to replace or rebuild these days

·
Registered
782 Posts
^What he said. Sounds like a rocker arm adjuster out of adjustment. Definitely a top end noise. Clanky!!

Reactions: Pvwheeler

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So compression on front cyl is borderline(about 45 psi) rear is about 55. took off valve cover, nothing obvious, Triple checked valves...they are ok. Guess I will have to go deep if i keep it, Going to see if someone else wants a project first.
Thanks for your help

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·